join renew donate

Press Releases

The 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Award Winners

by Website Update on September 9, 2011

New York, NY (November 29, 2010) – The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP), the nation’s
oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers, announced today the winners at the
20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards ceremony in New York City’s Cipriani Wall

Presented by IFP, the Gotham Independent Film Awards™ is one of the leading awards for
independent film and the first major honors of the film awards season. As previously announced,
the awards ceremony streamed live in its entirety to a global audience via a partnership with The
Big Live, Inc.

A total of 30 films received nominations in seven competitive categories, including: Best Feature,
Best Documentary, Breakthrough Director, Breakthrough Actor, Best Ensemble Performance,
Festival Genius Audience Award and Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You®.

For the first time, IFP will honor the recipient of the Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You
award with a theatrical release package so the winner WILL show at a Theater Near You. The
package includes a one-week run at Cinema Village in New York City, distribution consultation
and market strategy from CrowdStarter, advertising support in the New York Times, publicity
consultation from Donna Daniels PR and a cash award of $15,000 from The Royal Bank of

In addition to the competitive awards, career tributes were given to actors Robert Duvall and
Hilary Swank (Swank tribute sponsored by euphoria Calvin Klein), director Darren Aronofsky
and Focus Features CEO, James Shamus.

The 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Award™ Recipients:

Best Feature presented by actors Steve Buscemi and Melissa Leo.
Directed by Debra Granik; Produced by Anne Rosellini and Alix Madigan-Yorkin
Released by Roadside Attractions

The Best Feature Jury included: actors Ethan Hawke and Parker Posey; producer Christine
Vachon; director Melvin Van Peebles and editor Tricia Cooke.

Best Documentary presented by actor Sam Rockwell and documentarian Barbara Kopple
Directed and produced by Laura Poitras
Released by Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV

The Best Documentary Jury included: actor Alec Baldwin; composer Terence Blanchard;
documentarians Barbara Kopple and Robert Kenner and editor Mary Lampson

Breakthrough Director Award presented by actors Julianna Margulies and Paul Rudd
Writer and director, HOLY ROLLERS

Released by First Independent Pictures

The Breakthrough Director Jury included: actor Zooey Deschanel; cinematographer Maryse
Alberti; composer Carter Burwell; producer Frida Torresblanco.

Breakthrough Actor Award presented by actors Winona Ryder and Jesse Eisenberg

Released by IFC Films

The Breakthrough Actor Jury included: actor Josh Brolin; filmmakers David Gordon Green and
Peter Sollett; actress Amber Tamblyn; and producer Monty Ross.

Best Ensemble Performance Award presented by actors Ethan Hawke and Ethan Coen.
Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Kevin

Released by Roadside Attractions

The Best Ensemble Performance Jury included: actors Anthony Mackie and Lili Taylor;
producer Lisa Cortes; writer Larry Gross; and filmmaker Miguel Arteta.

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You Award presented by actor Rosie Perez and RBC
CEO, Mark Standish
Mike Ott, director; Frederick Thornton, Laura Ragsdale, Sierra Leoni, producers

The recipient of The Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You™ award was determined by
the editors of Filmmaker magazine, a publication of IFP, and a curator from The Museum of
Modern Art.

The Festival Genius Audience Award presented by actors Anthony Mackie and Leighton
Davis Guggenheim, director; Leslie Chilcott and Michael Brietal, producers

The Festival Genius Audience Award was voted on line by filmgoers who love movies.

For information about the Gotham Independent Film Awards: